
 

 
 
 
 

 

Sample of State Jobs 
Requiring: 

 
High School Diploma/GED 

(Or Less)  
& 

Little/No Experience 



 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

OCCUPATIONAL STUDENT TRAINEE - 10101 
 

Salary: $17,548.80 - $18,741.60 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
This is work of an introductory and training nature for high school students in order to develop work skills 
associated with state related occupations.  This is a temporary job in the State service.  No employment 
register is maintained.  Vacancies are filled by direct appointment by various departments across the State. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• Enrollment in high school as a junior or senior with good standing. 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above 

address, or any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for 
late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 
information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be given 
an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a register.  
Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According 
to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of 
this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or employment in a position in State service for a period of 
five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 
Department. 

 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process pursuant 
to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 
Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees 

will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States 
listed below: 

 
• Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
• Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)) 
• Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
• Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
• New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
• Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above listed regional accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable 
prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an 
applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree.  
In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college 
coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 
Note:  This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the above listed 
accreditation associations. 

 
 
 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

CLERICAL AIDE - 10103 
 

Salary: $17,548.80 - $18,741.60 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
This is a temporary job in the State service.  Employees in this class perform office work which consists of routine 
clerical stenographic and typing duties and which follows well-established procedures that can be readily learned on 
the job.  No employment register is maintained.  Vacancies are filled by direct appointment by various departments 
across the State. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• Completion of 10th grade and proof of enrollment in high school 

OR 
• Graduation from high school or GED certification 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work. 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late 
receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

CLERK - 10121 
 

Salary: $19,214.40 - $26,474.40 
Announcement Date: December 2, 2015 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
The Clerk is a permanent, full-time position used by various agencies throughout the state. Employees in this class may perform 
a variety of clerical duties.  These duties include filing documents, sorting mail, proofreading documents, making copies, greeting 
and directing the public, issuing licenses or vital statistics certificates, taking telephone messages, posting records, or making 
simple calculations. Vacancies are filled by direct appointment by various departments across the state.  No examination is 
required.  No employment register is maintained.  Applicants meeting the qualifications listed below must apply directly to the 
department for which they wish to work or to the State Personnel Department to be placed on the direct appointment list for Clerk. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• High School diploma or a GED certificate 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Applications for this class may be submitted directly to the various State departments where you wish to work OR online, by 

mail, or by fax to the State Personnel Department. 
Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of 
applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 
 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 

64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 

Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 

Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT ASSISTANT I – 10196 
 

Salary: $21,194.40 - $34,761.60 

Announcement Date: May 28, 2014 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

JOB INFORMATION 

The Administrative Support Assistant I is a permanent, full-time position used by various agencies throughout the State.  

Employees in this class may perform a variety of clerical duties.  These duties include filing documents, sorting mail, typing 

documents, proofreading documents, making copies, greeting and directing the public, issuing licenses or vital statistics 

certificates, taking telephone messages, posting records, or making simple calculations.   
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

• High school diploma or a GED certificate 

• Six months of clerical work experience 
 

NOTE 

• Typing skills are required for some but not all jobs in this classification.  If you wish to be considered (selectively 

certified) for positions that require typing, we must receive a Certificate of Proficiency which describes your skill level.  

You should make your own arrangements to take the proficiency test.  Certificates of Proficiency are accepted from proficiency 

test administrators at Alabama Career Centers and business education teachers in Alabama public and private middle schools, 

high schools, accredited business schools, trade schools, and two-year and four-year college.  Certificates of Proficiency 

submitted by candidates will not be accepted.  The minimum typing rate is a net of 40 words per minute with 10 or less 

errors. 
 

EXAMINATION 

• Open-Competitive to all applicants,  

• A Written Multiple Choice Exam will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-competitive register. 

• The written test will measure your ability to review records and reports, compare data, perform numerical operations, and create 

and maintain files.  Reading comprehension, proofreading and public relations skills will be tested.  The test will also measure 

your ability to compile and organize information, and to plan and schedule activities.   
 

HOW TO APPLY 

• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 

• Apply on-line, by mail, or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 

obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 

not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 

from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 

Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 

misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 

employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 

State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 

 

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 

Personnel Department. 

 

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 

pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 

 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 

1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 

and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 

(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 

 

 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 

 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 

 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 

 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 

 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 

 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 

 

College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 

 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 

associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 

acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 

accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 

the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 

college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 

bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 

Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 

*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 

regional accreditation associations listed above. 

 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

WAREHOUSE WORKER - 10920 
 

Salary:  $22,821.60 - $33,081.60 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
This is work in handling stock and filling orders for delivery.  Most positions are in large warehouses.  This is a direct 
appointment job classification.  No employment register is maintained.  Vacancies are filled by direct appointment by 
various departments across the State. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• Completion of eighth grade and at least one year of experience in manual labor in a large warehouse 

OR 
• High School diploma or GED 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career  Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work 

Applications will be accepted until further notice. The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late 
receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.state.al.us/
http://www.personnel.state.al.us/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

EMPLOYMENT SECURITY TEMPORARY CLERK - 11403 
 

Salary: Hourly Rate: $8.79 - $11.83 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
This is a temporary job with the Department of Labor.  Employees in this class may recruit applicants for 
assistance programs, interview applicants, give general aptitude tests, work with community groups, schools 
and government officials, or take claims for unemployment compensation and post benefit determinations.  
No employment register is maintained.  Vacancies are filled by direct appointment by the Department of 
Labor. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• High school diploma or a GED certificate 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above 

address, or any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work. 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for 
late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 
 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

ABC SALES ASSOCIATE I - 11706 
 

Salary: $23,397.60 - $33,921.60 
Announcement Date: April 29, 2015 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
The ABC Sales Associate I is a position with the Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.  Positions are located throughout 
the state.  Employees perform retail and/or wholesale work involving the selling and accounting for cash and stock in a state store 
dispensing alcoholic beverages.  These functions require employees to be capable of lifting cases of merchandise weighing up to 
53 pounds ranging in height from floor level up to six (6) feet to unload trucks, organize inventory, and stock/organize sales area. 
ABC Stores serve the public Monday through Saturday which requires employees to work nights, weekends, and/or holidays. 
Vacancies are filled by direct appointment.  No examination is required.  No employment register is maintained.  Applicants 
meeting the minimum qualifications listed below may apply directly to the ABC Board or to the State Personnel Department to 
be placed on the direct appointment list for ABC Sales Associate I. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• Graduation from High School or possession of a GED 
 
NOTES 
• Employees in this class must be 21 years of age.  
• Some positions may require a valid driver’s license.  
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Applications for this class may be submitted directly to the ABC Board in person or online at retail.jobs@abc.alabama.gov, 

OR online, by mail, or by fax to the State Personnel Department. 
Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of 
applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
mailto:retail.jobs@abc.alabama.gov


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 
 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 

64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 

Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 

Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

ENGINEERING ASSISTANT I - 20111 
 

Salary: $25,207.20 - $38,335.20 

Announcement Date: September 7, 2011 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

JOB INFORMATION 

This is work of limited skill in assisting the engineering projects and activities. This class represents the entry level for engineering 

positions in design, construction, traffic surveying, and materials testing. Employees in this class receive training in one or more 

of the engineering specialty areas. 
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 

• High School Diploma or GED 
 

EXAMINATION 

• Open-Competitive to all applicants  

• Written Multiple Choice Exam will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-competitive register.  

• The How to Prepare Guide for this examination is available on our website listed above.  Please contact State Personnel if you 

wish to have a guide mailed to you. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 

• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 

• Apply on-line, by mail, or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 

obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 

not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 

from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 

Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 

misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 

employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 

State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 

 

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 

Personnel Department. 

 

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 

pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 

 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 

1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 

and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 

(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 

 

 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 

 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 

 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 

 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 

 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 

 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 

 

College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 

 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 

associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 

acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 

accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 

the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 

college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 

bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 

Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 

*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 

regional accreditation associations listed above. 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

ANIMAL/VECTOR CONTROL TECHNICIAN - 20649 
 

Salary: $22,276.80 - $31,468.80 
Announcement Date: July 20, 2016  

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

JOB INFORMATION 
The Animal/Vector Control Technician is a permanent, full-time position with the Alabama Department of Public Health 
(www.adph.org).  Positions are located in Baldwin County.  This is beginning level work in providing services in animal or vector 
control.  Employees in this class provide basic care to animals in the animal shelter facility in Baldwin County, and/or perform 
vector control services including surveillance, lavaciding, and adulticiding. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• High school diploma or GED certificate. 
 
SPECIAL REQUIREMENT 
• Possession of a Certified Euthanasia Technician license as issued by the Alabama State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 

or a Pesticide Application license as issued by the State of Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries. 
 
EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants. 
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 100% of the final score. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 
• Apply on-line, by mail,  or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

CLINIC AIDE – 40102 
 

Salary: $21,194.40 - $29,959.20 
Announcement Date: March 5, 2014 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

JOB INFORMATION 
The Clinic Aide is a permanent, full-time position with the Department of Public Health (www.adph.org).  Positions 
are located throughout the state.  This is non-professional work in providing supportive health services in a public 
health clinic. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
•  High School Diploma or GED. 

OR 
•  Completion of the eleventh grade and one year of experience in a health care facility. 

OR 
•  Completion of the tenth grade and two years of experience in a health care facility. 

 
EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants.  
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 100% of the final score on 

the open-competitive register. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Apply on-line, by mail, or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel 

Department is not responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

HEALTH SPECIALIST – HOURLY – 40109  
 

Salary: $7.77 per hour – $14.05 per hour 
Announcement Date: September 26, 2012 

Revised Date: January 31, 2020 
 

JOB INFORMATION 
The Health Specialist - Hourly is an hourly, conditional, no benefits position with the Department of Public Health.  
Individuals are appointed to this classification to serve on an at-will, part-time, as-needed basis.  This classification 
has no benefits and is based on the amount of work available.  Individuals appointed to this classification do not serve 
a probationary period nor obtain permanent status; therefore, individuals do not have due process rights. Positions are 
located throughout the state.  This is non-professional work in providing supportive health services to patients and 
health care staff.  
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• High School Diploma or GED 
 
NOTES 
• On the reverse side of this announcement is a required questionnaire.  Individuals will be selectively certified based 

on the information provided on the questionnaire.  Attach the completed questionnaire to your application and return 
it to State Personnel.  Applications without the questionnaire attached will not be accepted. 

• Names on the employment register will be considered (selectively certified) for positions in the following specialty 
areas: 

Wellness/Clinic               Peer Counselor             Interpreter               Home Health 
 

• Employees in this class are separated if no work is available within one year. 
 

EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants 
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 100% of the final score for 

the open-competitive register. 
 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Apply by mail, or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is 

not responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

 
HEALTH SPECIALIST – HOURLY – 40109  

 QUESTIONNAIRE 
 

 
• Are you currently participating or have you previously participated in the WIC program?    YES            NO 
 
• Have you breastfed one child for at least six months?          YES             NO 

 
• Are you willing to provide health care to patients in their homes?          YES  NO 

 
• Are you fluent (both written and verbal) in a language other than English?  YES              NO 

 
If yes, what language  _________________________________ 

 
 
 
 
 

________________________________    _________________________________   
Signature      Print your name 
 
 
________________________________ 
 Last four numbers of SSN 

 
 

 
Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 
information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be given 
an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a register.  
Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According 
to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of 
this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or employment in a position in State service for a period of 
five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 
Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process pursuant 
to Act No. 2011-535. 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

HOME HEALTH AIDE - 40111 
 

Salary: $21,194.40 - $29,959.20 
Announcement Date: August 10, 2011 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

JOB INFORMATION 
The Home Health Aide is a permanent, full-time position with the Department of Public Health (www.adph.org).  Positions are 
located throughout the state.  This is non-professional work in providing home health services to homebound patients.  Employees 
in this class provide basic personal and physical health care services to patients in their homes. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• High School Diploma or GED. 

OR 
• Completion of the eleventh grade including one year of experience in a health care facility or providing health care to 

homebound patients. 
OR 

• Completion of the tenth grade including two years of experience in a health care facility or providing health care to homebound 
patients. 

 
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
• Possession of a valid license to operate a motor vehicle. 
• Eligible for national certification as a home health aide and/or training. 
• In order to obtain permanent employment, the employee must successfully complete the 40 hours of basic orientation, pass 

the clinical skills competency evaluation, score at least a 70 on the state written examination, and successfully complete the 
six month probationary period. 

  
EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants.  
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on application will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-

competitive register. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 
• Apply on-line, by mail, or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

SECURITY GUARD I - 60611 
 

Salary: $24,604.80 - $37,389.60 
Announcement Date: November 30, 2005 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

JOB INFORMATION 
The Security Guard I is a permanent, full-time position used by various agencies throughout the state.  This is responsible security 
work in protecting state property and merchandise and maintaining the security of state buildings, grounds, and institutions. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• High school diploma or GED certificate 

 
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
• Applicants must possess a valid Alabama driver license.  
• All applicants must fill out the questionnaire on the back of this announcement in order to be evaluated and placed on  

employment register.  Please attach and return this questionnaire with your application. 
• Some positions require the possession of a State of Alabama pistol license. 

 

 

NOTE    
•  Employees in the classification may be required to work day and night shifts, weekends, holidays, and in all weather conditions. 
 
EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants  
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on application and responses to the Questionnaire on the reverse side 

of this announcement will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-competitive register.  
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 
• Apply by mail or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 
QUESTIONNAIRE 
 
Listed below are several work experiences which have been identified as being related to the Security 
Guard I job.  Please mark an “X” in the boxes which describe your past work experiences, and fill in the 
required information. 
 

□ Check this box if you have no work experience which is related to Security Guard I. 
 

WORK EXPERIENCE                              DATES                           JOB TITLE                                    NAME OF 
EMPLOYER 

 

□ Security Guard       to 
 

□ Police Officer       to 
 

□ Loss Prevention      to 
       (as in retail stores)  
 

□ Military Police Officer      to 
 

□ Armed Escort       to 
 

□ Security System      to 
       Monitor 
 

□ Correctional Officer      to 
 
In the spaces below, please document any other work experience you have which you feel is related to the 
Security Guard I job, but is not listed above. 
 

WORK EXPERIENCE                              DATES                           JOB TITLE                                    NAME OF 
EMPLOYER 

 

□          to 
 

□         to 
 

□        to 
 
Signature: _________________________________ 
 
Social Security Number:  _ _ _ - _ _ - _ _ _ _ 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 
Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain information 
about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be given an examination.  
Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a register.  Or four, your name may 
not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-
26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will not get 
a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be required to forfeit their office or position for five years. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel Department. 

 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

PORT POLICE OFFICER – 60631 
 

Salary: $30,703.20 - $50,174.40 
Announcement Date: April 2, 2014 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

JOB INFORMATION 
The Port Police Officer is a permanent, full-time position with the Alabama State Port Authority (ASPA). Positions are located 
in Mobile, Alabama. This is responsible law enforcement work relating to the security and protection of maritime facilities.  
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• High school diploma or GED 

 
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
• Pass a physical examination and a physical ability/agility test, and will be required to take a drug test 
• Meet the following requirements of the Alabama Peace Officers’ Standards and Training Act to include: (1) nineteen years of 

age at time of appointment; (2) good health and physically fit for the performance of duties as a law enforcement officer; (3) 
no conviction for a felony or domestic violence; (4) must be a citizen of the United States; and (5) if the applicant has been a 
member of the armed forces of the United States, his/her discharge must be honorable. Permanent status is dependent upon the 
candidate successfully completing APOST academy 

• Possess a valid Alabama driver’s license as defined by current ASPA Vehicle Operator Policy at time of appointment 
• Possess a valid Port Security Badge with escort privileges at time of appointment  
• Possess a valid Transportation Worker Identification Credential Card at time of appointment 
 
NOTES 
• A background investigation will be conducted prior to making hiring decisions.   
• Employees will be required to work after hours and/or weekends/holidays/emergencies. 

 
EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants  
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-

competitive register. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 
• Apply on-line, by mail, or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
ALEA TROOPER, TRAINEE - 60670 

Salary: $37,389.60 - $56,726.40* 
*Starting salaries will be adjusted based on education above the minimum: 

Completion of a 2-year degree - $38,335.20 and completion of a 4-year degree - $40,286.40 
Announcement Date: March 13, 2019 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
JOB INFORMATION 
ALEA Trooper, Trainee is a permanent, full-time position with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA). Positions are 
located throughout the state. Employees must complete specific training prescribed by the Alabama Peace Officers’ Standards 
and Training Commission (APOSTC) as well as specialized agency training necessary to become a fully functional Trooper 
responsible for patrolling state roadways, waterways, and complexes. Candidates completing probation are eligible for promotion 
to the ALEA Trooper classification after six (6) months. 
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• Applicants must possess a high school diploma or GED certificate. 
• Applicants must be 21 years of age or older.  
• Applicants must provide one of the following with their applications: (1) valid certification of having passed the Basic 

Ability Test (BAT) for Law Enforcement Officers (also called ACT WorkKeys) as required by APOSTC OR (2) proof of 
possession of an Associate’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university (copy of diploma or transcript) OR 
(3) APOSTC certification number and issue date in the Professional License or Certificate section on their applications. 
(APOSTC Correctional Officers are not eligible for this exemption from the BAT). Applications without the required 
documentation will not be accepted. For additional information, see the back of this announcement.   

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS 
• Applicants must be a U.S. Citizen at the time of appointment. 
• Applicants must possess a valid Alabama driver license at the time of appointment. 
• Applicants must meet APOSTC requirements, designated agency training, and other specialized training during the 

probationary period.  
• Applicants must pass a Pre-Employment Physical Assessment. Applicants who are not APOSTC certified must complete 

the Physical Ability/Agility Test (PAAT) consisting of the following components: 
 An obstacle course in 90 seconds where applicants push a vehicle 15 feet, climb a 6-foot wall or chain link fence, crawl 
through a small window, walk a balance beam, and drag a 165-pound dummy 15 feet; 
 At least 22 push-ups in 60 seconds; 
 At least 25 sit-ups in 60 seconds; and 
 A 1.5 mile run in 15 minutes and 28 seconds. 

       Note: APOSTC certified candidates must complete the Physical Ability Fitness Assessment (PAFA) which requires 
completion of the obstacle course within 90 seconds and a 300-meter untimed run. 

• Applicants must successfully complete a background investigation. 
• Applicants are subject to assignment anywhere within the State. 
• Marine Patrol Division positions require employees to obtain a vessel operator license during the probationary period. 
 

EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants 
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application and required documents listed above will 

comprise 100% of the final score. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Apply by mail or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

*Please refer to the State Personnel Department website or call us at 334-242-3389 for complete information on our  
policy for accepting post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 

Basic Abilities Test (BAT) 
 
Effective July 1, 2017, APOSTC adopted the ACT WorkKeys Assessment as the official Basic Ability Test (BAT) 
for all applicants for Law Enforcement Officer employment and certification.  The ACT WorkKeys Assessment/BAT 
is currently offered at all of Alabama’s community colleges in the Workforce Development Program.  Administration 
schedules and guidelines vary by location so applicants should contact their preferred community college to get 
details regarding test administration.  A list of community colleges and contact information is included on the 
APOSTC website listed below. 
 
Applicants must submit a copy of their BAT results with their applications in order to be placed on the register.  
There are two exceptions for applicants who are not required to take the BAT: (1) Applicants who possess an 
Associate’s degree or higher, and (2) Applicants who are already APOSTC certified (This includes applicants who 
are required to complete the Refresher training for reinstatement of his/her certification).  Applicants with an 
Associate’s degree or higher must submit a copy of their diploma or transcript; if you do not submit proof of your 
degree, your application will not be accepted.  For applicants who are APOSTC certified, you must include your 
APOSTC certification number and issue date in the Professional License or Certificate section on your application. 
 
Frequently Asked Questions 
 
• What is the BAT?  BAT stands for Basic Ability Test.  APOSTC has adopted the ACT WorkKeys Assessment as 

the official Basic Ability Test (BAT) for all applicants for Law Enforcement Officer employment and certification. 
 
• What sections comprise the test?  The BAT is comprised of three skill areas: 1) Applied Math, 2) Graphic Literacy, 

and 3) Workplace Documents (understanding memos, notices, policies, and other written text).  No prior knowledge 
of law or law enforcement is needed to answer the questions.  A prep course called Police Exam 3Rs is available 
online for law enforcement reading, writing, and math.  (This study material is not developed or endorsed by ALEA 
or SPD; it is only a suggestion of study material available online and does not guarantee success on the exam.)  

 
• Where can I take the BAT?  Individuals who do not possess a valid ACT WorkKeys Assessment/BAT may test 

at any Alabama community college within the State.  Applicants should contact their preferred community college 
for scheduling and other related information. 

 
• When should I take the BAT?  You must successfully complete the BAT before you can be placed on the register 

for ALEA Trooper, Trainee.  Applicants must attach a copy of their BAT results to their applications in order to be 
placed on the register. 

 
• When will I know my score?  The community college will provide you with a copy of your BAT results, and you 

should attach a copy of the results to your application. 
 
• How much does the BAT cost?  The standard fee to take the BAT at all Alabama community colleges is currently 

$45 ($15/section).  The fee is payable to the community college and is required prior to testing.  
 
• What if I do not pass a section of the BAT?  Should you fail any section of the three-segment test, you will be 

allowed to re-take only that segment of the test for an additional fee of $15 per segment. 
 

For additional information, go to the APOSTC website:  www.apostc.state.al.us, and click on “ACT WorkKeys 
Assessment Adopted as Basic Ability Test (BAT).”  You may also consult ALEA’s website:  
www.alea.gov\employment, or contact ALEA Personnel Division at (334)517-2444. 

https://sgtgodoy.com/online-store/?utm_source=PoliceTestInfo&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=Police#!/Police-Exam-3Rs-Prep-Course/p/101012141/category=18084146
http://www.apostc.state.al.us/
http://www.alea.gov/employment
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Continuous Announcement 
 

CORRECTIONAL OFFICER TRAINEE - 60710 
 

Salary: $31,468.80 - $47,805.60* 

*Starting salaries will be adjusted based on education above the minimum: 

Completion of a 2-year degree or the equivalent amount of credit hours - $34,761.60 and completion of a 4-year degree - $36,492.00 

Announcement Date: April 18, 2018 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 

JOB INFORMATION 

The Correctional Officer Trainee is a permanent, full-time position with the Department of Corrections.  Positions are located 

throughout the state. This is correctional security work as a trainee that consists of formal and on-the-job training of the policies 

and procedures associated with the custody and rehabilitation of inmates within a correctional institution.  No written 

examination is required.  No employment register is maintained.  Applicants meeting the qualifications below may apply 

directly to the Department of Corrections in person on the day of testing. 

 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

• High school diploma or GED  

• Nineteen (19) years of age 

 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

• Applicants must possess a valid driver license from their State of residency.  

• Applicants must be a citizen of the United States.  

• Applicants must pass a physical examination and a physical ability test.  

• Applicants must pass a drug screen. 

• Applicants will be fingerprinted (background check). 

• Applicants must have no felony or domestic violence convictions. 

• If an applicant is a veteran of the armed forces of the United States, their discharge must be under honorable 

conditions. 

 

NOTES 

• Copy of high school diploma/GED Certificate and BAT results OR Associates degree or higher from a College or University 

accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) or its regional equivalent, will be required by the 

Department of Corrections prior to appointment. 

• Applicants previously certified by APOSTC are not required to take the BAT, provided they have been active within the last 

ten (10) years. 

• Applicants are subject to assignment anywhere within the State. 

• Questions may be directed to the Department of Corrections at (334) 353-9510. 

 

EXAMINATION 

• Completion of the BAT (see attached) 

 

HOW TO APPLY 

• The State Personnel Department does not schedule applicants for the on-site exam.  Application for this classification should 

be submitted directly to the Department of Corrections in person on the day of testing. 

• An Application for Examination Form is available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 

information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be given an 

examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a register.  Or four, 

your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the 

Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type 

of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or employment in a position in State service for a period of five years 

and, if the person is an officer or employee of the State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 

 

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 

Department. 

 

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process pursuant 

to Act No. 2011-535. 

 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 

1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and 

doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission (DEAC) or any 

of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 

 

 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 

 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 

 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 

 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 

 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 

 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 

 

College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 

 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation associations may 

be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable prerequisite for 

admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s 

degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree.  In the case of required college 

coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college coursework if a regionally accredited school 

accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of 

acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 

*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six regional 

accreditation associations listed above. 
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MEMORANDUM 

DATE:  January 15, 2020 

TO:  Applicants for Correctional Officer Trainee 

FROM:  State Personnel 

SUBJECT: Testing Information 

 

Basic Abilities Test (BAT) Requirement: 
 

• What is the BAT?  The BAT is also known as the ACT Workkeys. 
 

• What sections of the BAT am I required to take?  The three segments you are required to take are 1) 

Reading for Information (Workplace Documents), 2) Location Information (Graphic Literary), 3) Applied 

Mathematics. 
 

• Where can I take the BAT?  You can take the BAT at any community college in your state of residence.  You 

may contact the Alabama Department of Corrections (ADOC) for additional information. 
 

• When should I take the BAT?  You must successfully complete the BAT before you are eligible for 

appointment as a Correctional Officer Trainee. 
 

• What is a passing score on the BAT?  You must score a 3 or higher on each segment of the BAT to pass. 
 

• How much does the BAT cost?  A fee of $15 per section ($45 total), payable to the community college is 

required prior to testing. 
 

Applicants must attend one of the following on-sites (refer to the ADOC website for more information). 
 

2020 On-site Testing Schedule 
 

*January 31, 2020 Donaldson Correctional Facility *July 31, 2020 Ventress Correctional Facility 

*February 14, 2020 Staton Correctional Facility *August 7, 2020 Bibb Correctional Facility 

*February 28, 2020 Ventress Correctional Facility *August 28, 2020 Fountain Correctional Facility 

*March 20, 2020 Bibb Correctional Facility *September 18, 2020 Donaldson Correctional Facility 

*April 24, 2020 Fountain Correctional Facility *October 2, 2020 Staton Correctional Facility 

*May 15, 2020 Donaldson Correctional Facility *October 30, 2020 Ventress Correctional Facility 

*June 12, 2020 Limestone Correctional Facility *November 13, 2020 Bibb Correctional Facility 

*June 26, 2020 Staton Correctional Facility *December 11, 2020 Limestone Correctional Facility 

*Please note all testing dates are on Friday 
 

If you need additional information, please contact ADOC Personnel Division’s Correctional Officer Unit at 

(334) 353-9510 or www.doc.alabama.gov.  
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Continuous Announcement 
 

YOUTH SERVICES AIDE - 60801 
 

Salary: $25,838.40 - $38,335.20 
Announcement Date: April 8, 2015 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
The Youth Services Aide is a permanent, full-time position with the Department of Youth Services.  This position is located at 
various facilities throughout the state.  This is non-professional work involving the supervision, observation, security and 
rehabilitation of youth in a group living situation.  No examination is required.  No employment register is maintained.  Applicants 
meeting the qualifications below may apply directly to the Department of Youth Services or to the State Personnel Department 
to be placed on the direct appointment list for Youth Services Aide. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• High school diploma or GED 

 
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENT 
According to Act 85-681 of the Alabama Legislature, you may not be hired if you have been convicted of the following 
crimes:  murder, rape in the first degree, kidnapping in the first degree, assault in the first degree, arson in the first 
degree, or a crime dealing with abuse of children.  You will be investigated before you are hired. 
 
NOTES 
• Employees in this class may work day, evening, or night shifts and/or weekends including holidays. 
• As part of the application process, you will be required to TOUR the campus facility and participate in an on-site ORIENTATION 

program. 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class may be submitted directly to the Department of Youth Services in person or online at 

www.dys.alabama.gov, OR online, by mail, or by fax to the State Personnel Department. 
Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of 
applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.dys.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
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Continuous Announcement 
 

CONSERVATION ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, TRAINEE – 70798 
 

Salary: $37,389.60 - $56,726.40 
Announcement Date: September 30, 2015 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

 

JOB INFORMATION 
The Conservation Enforcement Officer, Trainee is a permanent, full-time position with the Department of 
Conservation and Natural Resources.  Positions are located throughout the state.  This is the entry-level conservation 
enforcement classification; employees are trainees who complete required courses of training approved by the 
Alabama Peace Officers’ and Standards Training Commission (APOSTC) as well as specialized job assignment 
training. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• High school diploma or GED certificate. 
 
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
• Possession of a valid Alabama driver license. 
• Applicants must be 21 years of age at the time of application. 

   

• Applicants must meet requirements of the Alabama Peace Officers' Standards and Training Act and pass a physical 
examination during the probationary period. 

• Applicants must complete designated agency and other specialized training related to job assignment during the 
probationary period. 

 

   

EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants  
• A Written Multiple Choice Exam will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-competitive register. 
• The Candidate Information Guide for this examination is available on our website listed above.  Please contact State 

Personnel if you wish to have a guide mailed to you. 
 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Apply on-line, by mail or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel 

Department is not responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 

 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

CUSTODIAL WORKER - 80101 
 

Salary: $18,288.00 - $24,604.80 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
This is manual work involving the custodial care of public buildings and premises.  Employees in this job classification 
perform cleaning and minor maintenance work in state buildings and hospitals.  This is a direct appointment job 
classification.  No employment register is maintained.  Vacancies are filled by direct appointment by various 
departments across the State. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• Six (6) months of experience in janitorial work, grounds maintenance or related work 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late 
receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 
 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

BUILDING CUSTODIAN I - 80111 
 

Salary: $21,715.20 - $30,703.20 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
This is responsible semi-skilled work supervising the custodial care and maintenance of a public building.  This is a 
direct appointment job classification.  No employment register is maintained.  Vacancies are filled by direct 
appointment by various departments across the State. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• One (1) year of experience in janitorial or general cleaning work and routine building maintenance tasks 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late 
receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 
 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

LAUNDRY WORKER I - 80211 
 

Salary: $18,288.00 - $24,604.80 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
This is routine work in performing repetitive manual or machine operation tasks in an institutional laundry.  This is a 
direct appointment job classification.  No employment register is maintained.  Vacancies are filled by direct 
appointment by various departments across the State. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• Completion of eighth school grade 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late 
receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 
 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

FOOD SERVICE WORKER - 80301 
 

Salary: $17,848.80 - $23,997.60 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
Employees in this class perform routine work in the preparation and serving of food and related manual tasks in 
kitchens, dining rooms and wards.  This is a direct appointment job classification.  No employment register is 
maintained.  Vacancies are filled by direct appointment by various departments across the State. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• Completion of eighth school grade 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late 
receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 
 
 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
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P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

UTILITY LABORER - 90103 
 

Salary: $20,174.40 - $27,804.00 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
This is semi-skilled and manual labor work.  This is a direct appointment job classification.  No employment register 
is maintained.  Vacancies are filled by direct appointment by various departments across the State. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• One (1) year of semi-skilled work in a building or mechanical trade 

OR 
• One (1) year of semi-skilled work operating equipment such as tractors or forklifts 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late 
receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
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P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
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Continuous Announcement 
 

GROUNDS WORKER - 90140 
 

Salary: $20,671.20 - $29,215.20 
Announcement Date: September 1, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 
JOB INFORMATION 
This is semi-skilled work in the care of grounds of a state institution, public building, state park, or historical 
site.  Employees in this job classification are responsible for the appearance, repair, and general care of 
gardens and grounds..  This is a direct appointment job classification.  No employment register is maintained.  
Vacancies are filled by direct appointment by various departments across the State. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• Completion of the tenth grade 
• Six (6) months of experience in groundskeeping and gardening work 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above 

address, or any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Application for this class must be submitted directly to the State department where you wish to work. 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for 
late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
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Continuous Announcement 
 

TRANSPORTATION WORKER - 90241 
 

Salary: $21,715.20 - $30,703.20 
Announcement Date: March 23, 2005 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

 
JOB INFORMATION 
Transportation Worker is a permanent, full-time position with the Department of Transportation.  Positions are located throughout 
the state.  Employees perform a variety of routine tasks ranging from simple unskilled manual work to the operation of various 
pieces of simple mechanized equipment.  Vacancies are filled by direct appointment.  No employment register is maintained. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• Completion of eighth grade. 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Applicants meeting the qualifications above must apply directly to the Alabama Department of Transportation, Region or 

District Office for which they wish to work. 
• Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of 

applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

TRANSPORTATION MAINTENANCE TECHNICIAN I – 90244 
 

Salary: $25,207.20 - $38,335.20 
Announcement Date: May 23, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

 
JOB INFORMATION 
Transportation Maintenance Technician I is a full-time position with the Department of Transportation. Positions are located 
throughout the state. Employees perform light to heavy equipment operation in connection with the maintenance and construction 
of highway facilities. Vacancies are filled by direct appointment. No employment register is maintained 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• Completion of eighth grade. 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 
 
NOTE 
• Appointment to this class will be made on a conditional basis. A Commercial Drivers License (CDL) must be obtained during 

the probationary period. In order to remain in this class, an employee must maintain a valid CDL. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Applicants meeting the qualifications above must apply directly to the Alabama Department of Transportation, Region or 

District Office for which they wish to work. 
• Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of 

applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

SERVICE PATROL OPERATOR - 90428 
 

Salary: $26,474.40 - $41,277.60 
Announcement Date: September 11, 2013 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

JOB INFORMATION 
The Service Patrol Operator is a permanent, full-time position with the Department of Transportation. Positions are located in 
Birmingham, Mobile, Huntsville, Tuscaloosa and Montgomery. This is semi-skilled work patrolling urban highways in order to 
assist motorists and curtail traffic congestion by providing incident control until the incident is cleared. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 
• High school diploma or GED 
 
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENT 
• Applicants must possess a valid Alabama driver license at the time of their appointment. 
  
NOTES 
• At the time of appointment, applicants must have the ability to climb, stoop, or crouch. 
• Employees in this classification work day or evening shifts, and/or weekends, holidays, and emergencies. 
• Employees must be able to work in all weather conditions. 

 
EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants  
• An evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-

competitive register. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 
• Apply on-line, by mail, or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 



 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 
Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Continuous Announcement 
 

TRAFFIC SIGN PAINTER I - 90564 
 

Salary: $21,715.20 - $37,389.60 
Announcement Date: May 23, 2007 

Revised Date: October 2, 2019 
 

 
JOB INFORMATION 
Traffic Sign Painter I is a permanent, full-time position with the Department of Transportation.  Positions are located in 
Montgomery County only.  Employees use special equipment and follow standard procedures in laying-out and producing a 
variety of road marking signs.  Vacancies are filled by direct appointment.  No employment register is maintained. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• Completion of one high school level course in English 
• Completion of one high school level course in Math 
 
EXAMINATION 
• No examination is required. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Applicants meeting the qualifications above must apply directly to the Alabama Department of Transportation, Region or 

District Office for which they wish to work. 
• Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of 

applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 



Jackie Graham
State Personnel Director 

Alice Ann Byrne 
Deputy Director 

STATE OF ALABAMA 
PERSONNEL DEPARTMENT 
300 Folsom Administrative Building 
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-4100 

Telephone:  (334) 242-3389 Fax:  (334) 242-1110 
www.personnel.alabama.gov 

M E M O R A N D U M 
TO: Persons Interested in Continuous Announcements 

FR: State Personnel Director 

SUBJECT: Weekday Testing For: 

Effective immediately the State Personnel Department will administer the written test for the 
below job classifications each month on a selected Friday as follows: 

Second Friday of the Month Fourth Friday of the Month 
ASA I 10196 Account Clerk 10601 
ASA II 10197 ES Representative 11408 
ASA III 10198 Engineering Assistant I 20111 
Retirement Counselor 10875 PEDS I 21231 
Health Services Administrator I 40761 Financial Support Worker 50247 
Driver License Examiner I 60410 Classification Specialist 50340 

Individuals wishing to take the written test on a Friday must call the State Personnel Department 
at 334-353-3492 to received instructions about the testing schedule. Candidates must have an 
accepted application on file prior to making a reservation.  

TEST CENTER SPACE FOR FRIDAY TESTING IS LIMITED SO APPLICANTS WILL BE 
SCHEDULED ON A FIRST CALL/FIRST SERVE BASIS. WE WILL STOP TAKING 
RESERVATIONS WHEN SEATING CAPACITY IS MET OR BY 10:00 A.M. SEVEN 
WORKING DAYS PRIOR TO TEST DATE. CANDIDATES WILL BE SENT A CARD BY MAIL 
AND MUST PRESENT THIS NOTIFICATION CARD AND A PICTURE IDENTIFICATION TO 
BE ADMITTED TO THE TEST.  

Friday tests will be conducted ONLY at the State Personnel Department Testing Center located at the 
following address: State Personnel Test Facility 

60 Commerce Street 
4th Floor 
Montgomery AL 36104 

*NOTE: Friday testing will be offered in addition to the regular statewide testing conducted throughout
the year for these job classifications on Saturdays.
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